“Eyes” for robots - Industrial LiDAR Systems gaining momentum

对于使用机器人和自动导引车的工业应用,红外光与相应传感器之间的交互至关重要。要在3D系统中捕获真实世界的信息,制造商有几种不同的方法可选。

出行领域正在发生巨大的飞跃。无论是开发自动驾驶解决方案的汽车领域,还是使用机器人和自动导引车的工业应用,都是如此。整个系统中的各个元器件必须相互配合,相互补充。主要目标是创建车辆周围的无缝3D视图,用这张图来计算物体距离,并借助特殊算法启动车辆的下一步行动。事实上,这里同时使用了三种传感器技术:LiDAR(光检测和测距)、雷达和摄像头。根据具体应用场景,这三种传感器各有优势。将这些优势与冗余数据相结合可大大提升安全性。这些方面协调得越好,自动驾驶汽车就能更好地在周遭环境中行驶。

 


 

直接飞行时间(dToF)

飞行时间方法中,系统制造商使用光速来生成深度信息。简言之,就是将定向光脉冲发射到环境中,当光脉冲碰到物体时,它会被光源附近的探测器反射并记录。通过测量光束到达物体和返回所用的时间,可确定物体距离,而在dToF方法中,可确定单个像素的距离。接收到的信号会经过最终处理以触发相应的操作,例如进行车辆规避操作,以避免与行人或障碍物相撞。这种方法称为直接飞行时间(dToF),因为它与光束的确切“飞行时间”相关。自动驾驶车辆的LiDAR系统就是典型的dToF应用示例。

 

 

间接飞行时间(iToF)

间接飞行时间(iToF)方法类似,但有一个显著的区别。来自光源(通常为红外VCSEL)的照明被匀光片扩大,并发射脉冲(50% 占空比)到定义的视场。

 

在下游系统中,如果光没有遇到障碍物,存储的“标准信号”将在一段时间内触发探测器。如果物体中断该标准信号,系统可根据所产生的相移和脉冲序列的时延,确定探测器每个定义像素的深度信息。

 

 

主动立体视觉(ASV)

在“主动立体视觉”方法中,红外光源(通常为VCSEL或IRED)用一种图案照亮场景,两个红外摄像头则以立体形式记录图像。

 

通过比较两个图像,下游软件可计算所需的深度信息。光源通过投射一种图案来支持深度计算,即使是在墙壁、地板、桌子这样纹理很少的物体上也可以进行。这种方法非常适合机器人和自动导引车(AGV)上的近距离、高分辨率3D传感,用于避障。它还应用于生产线零件的光学检测、安保摄像头和监控。艾迈斯欧司朗拥有在NIR中提供高对比度点阵照明的点阵投射器产品组合,使系统可抵抗光照。主动立体视觉相对简单的系统设计对控制整体系统的成本有积极的影响。但是,由于系统原因,摄像头需要分离,因而这种方法需要大量安装空间。

 

由于工业生产或物流自动化程度提高等趋势,对相应技术的需求也在增加。根据各自的技术方法和最终应用,有些光源比其他光源更适合。 

对于LiDAR,有两个不同的主系统可用来获取3D点云:闪光LiDAR和扫描LiDAR。扫描LiDAR系统由一个聚焦脉冲激光束组成,通过机械旋转镜或微机电系统(MEMS)镜指向某个小立体角。

 

 

对高功率脉冲激光束进行控制,使其只发射到一个小立体角,与3D闪存系统相比,使用光功率的可达距离要大得多。可选择EEL产品用于这些系统架构。它们在紧凑空间通过小发射区发射大量光,从而实现出色的功率和范围。因此,很多解决方案中已经使用了EEL。艾迈斯欧司朗成为领先的LiDAR激光制造商已逾15年,在该领域已生产超过1000万个芯片,没有一个芯片有缺陷。作为该领域的半导体专家,艾迈斯欧司朗将当今LiDAR系统的常见波长确定为905纳米。与具有其他波长的系统相比,905纳米解决方案具有出色的系统效率、杰出的可靠性以及具有吸引力的系统成本。

 

最近,一种与LiDAR相关的新技术被越来越频繁地提到:VCSEL(垂直腔体表面发射激光)。VCSEL将两种照明技术的属性相结合:红外LED的高功率密度和简单封装,以及激光的谱宽和速度。该技术的优势包括出色的光束质量、简单的设计以及微型化进步,也正是这些优势促进了VCSEL市场的增长。一般来讲,VCSEL需要的安装空间可能比EEL发射器多,但在某些应用中具有优势。例如,VCSEL的辐射特性使其特别适合闪存LiDAR系统以及机器人和自主移动机器人等工业应用。通过3D闪存LiDAR,脉冲激光束一次性发射到整个相关立体角。要获得一定分辨率的点云,需要光敏检测器的n x m阵列(光电探测器的阵列或CMOS ToF芯片)。

 

不管客户喜欢哪种系统方法,艾迈斯欧司朗都能以极其广泛的产品组合提供所有常用方法,包括红外LED、VCSEL和EEL。艾迈斯欧司朗是提供用于LiDAR的VCSEL和EEL的全球领导者。这两种产品都具有出色的光学性能和效率。此外,客户还可从适合其系统的各种边缘发射器封装设计中选择,无论是TO金属罐、塑料还是峰值输出功率为120 W的SMT封装等。在VCSEL领域,艾迈斯欧司朗提供各种波长(680至940纳米)、功率级(7mW至>60 W)和多种视角。除了尺寸小巧,这些产品还具有出色可靠性和领先的VCSEL技术,适用与广泛的应用。

“Eyes” for robots - Industrial LiDAR Systems gaining momentum

For industrial applications using robots and automatic guided vehicles, the interaction between infrared light and corresponding sensors is essential. To capture the world in 3D system manufacturers can chose between different approaches.

Mobility is transforming in giant leaps and bounds. Whether it is within the automotive space developing autonomous mobility solutions or industrial applications using robots and automatic guided vehicles. There are various components of an overall system that must fit together and complement each other. The main goal is to create a seamless 3D view of the vehicle's direct surroundings. This map is needed to calculate distances to objects and initiate the vehicle's next action with the help of special algorithms. In fact, three sensor technologies come together here: LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging), radar and cameras. Depending on the scenario they all have their advantages. Combining these advantages with redundant data increases safety significantly. The better they are coordinated, the better self-driving vehicles will move through their environment.

 


 

Direct Time-of-Flight (dToF)

In the Time-of-Flight approach, system manufacturers use the speed of light to generate depth information. Put simply, a directed pulse of light is sent into the environment. When it hits an object, it is reflected and registered by the detector that is placed close to the light source. By measuring the time taken by the light beam to reach the object and back, the distance of the object or in this case of a single pixel can be determined. The received signal is finally processed to trigger a corresponding action – for example an evasive maneuver of the vehicle to avoid collisions with people or obstacles. This approach is called direct Time of Flight (dToF), because the exact "flight time" of the light beam is relevant. An example of a classic dToF application are LiDAR systems for autonomous vehicles.

 

 

Indirect Time-of-Flight (iToF)

The indirect Time-of-Flight (iToF) approach is similar, but it has a significant difference. The illumination from the light source (usually an infrared VCSEL) is expanded by a diffuser and emitted pulsed (50% duty cycle) into the defined field-of-view.

 

In the downstream system, a "standard signal" is stored that triggers the detector within a certain time if the light does not encounter any obstacle. If an object interrupts this standard signal, the system can determine the depth information per defined pixel of the detector due to the resulting phase shift and the time delay of the pulse train.

 

 

Active Stereo Vision (ASV)

In the "Active Stereo Vision" approach, an infrared light source (usually a VCSEL or IRED) illuminates the scene with a pattern and two infrared cameras record the image in stereo.

 

By comparing the two images, the downstream software can calculate the required depth information. The light source projects a pattern to support depth computation, even on objects with little texture like a wall, floor, table etc. This approach is ideally suited for short range, high resolution 3D sensing on robots and Automatic Guided Vehicles (AGVs) for obstacle avoidance. It also finds application in optical inspection of production line parts, security cameras and surveillance. ams OSRAM have a portfolio of dot projectors providing high contrast dot pattern illumination in the NIR, making systems immune to sunlight. The relatively simple system design of Active Stereo Vision has a positive effect on the overall system costs. However, this approach requires a correspondingly large amount of installation space because of the system-related separation of the cameras.

 

With trends such as increasing automation in industrial production or logistics, the need for corresponding technologies is also growing. Depending on the respective technology approach and final application, some light sources are better suited than others. 
For LiDAR, two different main systems are used to get a 3D point cloud: Flash LiDAR and Scanning LiDAR. A scanning LiDAR system consists of a focused pulsed laser beam, which is directed to a certain small solid angle by either a mechanical rotating mirror or a micro electro-mechanical system (MEMS) mirror.

 

The high-power pulsed laser beam is controlled so it is only emitted into a small solid angle, the reachable distance with the optical power used can be much larger compared to 3D Flash systems. EELs are the product of choice for these system architectures. They deliver a particularly large amount of light in a compact space via a small emission area, which leads to outstanding power and range. Therefore, EELs are already used in many solutions. ams OSRAM has been the leading manufacturer of LiDAR lasers for more than 15 years, with well over 10 million chips already in the field - without a single chip defect. The semiconductor expert has established today's common wavelength for LiDAR systems of 905 nanometers. Compared to systems with other wavelengths, 905 nanometer solutions are characterized by their outstanding system efficiency, perfect reliability and attractive system costs.

 

In connection with LiDAR, a new lighting technology has recently been mentioned more and more frequently: VCSELs (Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Lasers). VCSELs combine the properties of two illumination technologies: the high-power density and simple packaging of an infrared LED with the spectral width and speed of a laser. The advantages of the technology including excellent beam quality, simple design and advances in miniaturization, which explain the growth of the VCSEL market. In general, they may require more installation space than EEL emitters, but offer advantages in certain applications. For example, their radiation characteristics make them particularly suitable for flash LiDAR systems as well as industrial applications such as robotics and autonomous mobile robots. With a 3D Flash LiDAR the pulsed laser beam is emitted to the whole solid angle of interest in one shot. To obtain a certain resolution of the point cloud, an n x m array of the photosensitive detector (arrays of photodetectors or CMOS ToF chip) is required.

 

No matter which system approach customers prefer, ams OSRAM can serve all common approaches with its extremely broad portfolio including infrared LEDs, VCSELs and EELs. The company is a global leader in providing VCSELs and EELs for LiDAR. Both products are superior in terms of optical performance, as well as efficiency. In addition, customers can choose from a variety of edge-emitter package designs that work best for their system – whether it is TO-Can, Plastic or an SMT package with a peak output power of 120 W. In the VCSEL sector, ams OSRAM offer a wide range of wavelengths (680 to 940 nanometers), power classes (7mW to >60 W) and Field-Of-Views. In addition to their compact dimensions, the products are characterized by their outstanding robustness and leading VCSEL technology for a wide range of applications.