Capacitive Sensing

AS8579传感器让汽车制造商能够以更简便的方法符合联合国第79号条例的要求,同时具有出色的检测性能。


对于汽车设计工程师来说,找到一种比现有方法性能更好,同时成本更低、更易于在应用中实现的新技术解决方案,是很难得的。而艾迈斯半导体的新型AS8579电容式传感芯片正是这样一种解决方案,它可安装在具有驾驶员辅助功能的汽车上,实现方向盘离手检测(HOD)

它采用一种熟悉且经过验证的测量原理(I/Q解调)来检测驾驶员双手在方向盘上的位置。而且它明显优于现有的方向盘离手检测技术。请观看我们视频中的精彩片段:

 

 

新车设计中的基本安全要求

方向盘离手检测功能是联合国第79号条例所要求的,适用于所有批准上市的具有车道保持辅助系统(LKAS)的新车。自2021年4月1日起,欧盟已将这项要求用于新生产的车辆。方向盘离手检测系统的作用是持续监控驾驶员在紧急情况下或车道保持辅助系统发生故障时控制转向系统的就绪情况。

当前已有多种技术可提供这种方向盘离手检测功能,但它们都有局限性:那些不想握住方向盘的驾驶员可能有办法欺骗车上的监控系统,以致存在安全隐患。而现有的一些解决方案在某些操作条件下也表现不佳。

其中一种方向盘离手检测技术采用扭矩传感器:这种传感器可检测驾驶员握持方向盘时产生的微小且持续的偏转。这项技术的一大缺点是它很容易被欺骗:驾驶员可能会把手从方向盘上拿开,并用腿向上顶住来“握住”方向盘。

由于扭矩传感器存在的这一问题,汽车行业转而采用一种电容传感形式的方向盘离手检测传感器:这种传感器通过检测驾驶员的手(吸收电荷)接触方向盘时方向盘电容的变化来监控驾驶员对方向盘的抓握情况。这项技术只需要一个单一的传感器芯片连接到方向盘内置的金属传感器元件上即可实现。

到目前为止,汽车系统制造商一直在使用电容传感的充放电方法:这是一种非常成熟的技术,因为它在触摸屏和触摸传感按钮等产品中已应用了多年。但是,驾驶员佩戴手套时会检测失败,水分或湿气还会产生错误检测信号,破坏了基于该电容传感方法的方向盘离手检测的安全性能。如果驾驶员将一个电容性物体,如一片水果或一个塑料水瓶楔入方向盘框架,那么这种电容式传感器完全有可能被欺骗。因此,这种基于充放电方法的电容检测也可能存在安全隐患。

诚然,已有其他技术应用于其他驾驶员监控功能。例如,用于监控驾驶员头部位置的系统采用了2D光学传感。但这些2D光学传感系统并不具备执行方向盘离手检测的功能。因而电容感测仍然是目前最可行的方向盘离手检测技术。如今,艾迈斯半导体已开发出一种新的电容检测方法,可满足汽车行业的各种安全要求,并且易于实施。

性能更好,成本更低

艾迈斯半导体的这种新解决方案具有更好的检测性能,并且相比于现有的电容检测充放电技术,其使用的元器件更少。

AS8579电容式传感器通过I/Q解调技术实现可靠的电容感测,在方向盘离手检测时不会被驾驶员欺骗。与充放电法一样,I/Q解调也是一种公认的电容检测技术。它的优点是可以测量系统电阻元件和电容元件的阻抗。因此,与充放电方法不同的是,它能在困难条件下(如在潮湿环境,或者当驾驶员戴手套时)可靠地工作。而且它不会被欺骗,能准确检测驾驶员对方向盘的抓握情况。基于AS8579的解决方案的另外一个好处在于,它可以通过带加热功能的方向盘的加热器元件来工作,因此不需要在方向盘中内置单独的传感器元件。

AS8579之所以能消除工程设计中的妥协和让步,原因在于它:

  • 性能更好——AS8579不会被欺骗,而且在所有条件下都能工作
  • 成本更低——AS8579是一种单芯片解决方案,并且在带加热功能的方向盘中不需要专用的传感元件
  • 实施检测非常简单——芯片输出的是阻抗测量值,系统控制器只需应用一个阈值来确定驾驶员的手是否放在方向盘上。 

已可用于汽车设计

AS8579完全符合汽车级认证,并提供多个片上诊断功能,确保支持高达ASIL B级的汽车ISO 26262功能安全标准。AS8579在四个可选驱动器输出频率下工作(45.45kHz、71.43kHz、100kHz或125kHz),具有出色的抗电磁干扰性。

汽车设计人员可使用专用评估套件AS8579-TS_EK_DB,立即开始基于AS8579电容传感器的开发工作。

有关样片申请或其他技术信息,请访问AS8579电容传感器

New capacitive sensing technology provides a more reliable and safer hands-on detection

The AS8579 sensor offers the simplest way for car makers to comply with the UN Regulation 79, while giving the best detection performance


For automotive design engineers, it is unusual to find a new technology solution which performs better than existing approaches, and which reduces cost, and which is easier to implement in the application. But that is exactly what a new capacitive sensing chip, ams’ new AS8579, offers when used for hands-on detection (HOD) in cars which provide driver assistance functions. 
It is the result of the application of a familiar and proven measurement principle – I/Q demodulation – to the job of sensing the position of the driver’s hands on the steering wheel. And it is markedly superior to any of the existing technologies in use for HOD in cars. Watch the highlights in our video:

 

 

Essential safety requirement in new car designs

The HOD function is required by the United Nations Regulation 79, and applies to all new cars that have a Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS) wherever ratified. It has already been adopted by the European Union for new production vehicles from 1 April 2021. The purpose of the HOD system is to continuously monitor the readiness of the driver to assume control of the steering system in an emergency, or in the event of the failure of the LKAS.

Various technologies have been developed to provide this HOD function, but have had limitations: it is possible for drivers who want to avoid holding the steering wheel to fool the current monitoring system, which could compromise safety. And some existing solutions also perform poorly in certain operating conditions. 

One approach to HOD has been the torque sensor: this detects the continual, minute deflections produced when the driver grips the steering wheel. The big drawback of this technology is that it can be easily fooled: the driver may take their hands off the wheel and ‘hold’ it by pressing upwards against it with their leg. 

The problems with torque sensors have led the car industry to adopt a form of capacitive sensing for HOD: it monitors the driver’s grip on the steering wheel by detecting the change in capacitance of the steering wheel when the driver’s hands – which absorb electrical charge – come into contact with it. This technique only requires a single sensor chip connected to a metal sensor element built into the steering wheel. 

Until now, automotive system manufacturers have used the charge-discharge method of capacitive sensing: this is a well understood technique, as it has been applied for many years in products such as touchscreens and touch-sensing buttons. But detection fails when the driver wears gloves, and false detection signals generated by the presence of moisture or humidity undermine the safety performance of hands-on detection based on this method of capacitive sensing. This type of capacitive sensor can even be fooled if the driver wedges a capacitive object, such as a piece of fruit or a plastic water bottle, into the frame of the steering wheel. So again, the implementation of this charge-discharge method of capacitive sensing potentially compromises safety. 

It is true that other technologies are already applied to other driver-monitoring functions. For instance, 2D optical sensing is in use in systems for monitoring the position of the driver’s head. However, these 2D optical-sensing systems are not capable of performing HOD. This means that capacitive sensing is the most viable technology for HOD that is ready for deployment today. And now ams has a new approach to capacitive sensing which will meet all the safety requirements imposed by the automotive industry, and which is simple to implement.
 

Better performance, lower cost

This new solution from ams provides better performance, and with fewer components than the existing charge-discharge technique for capacitive sensing. 

By implementing reliable capacitive sensing based on I/Q demodulation, the AS8579 capacitive sensor performs HOD in a way which cannot be fooled. Like the charge-discharge method, I/Q demodulation is a proven and well-known technique for capacitive sensing. Its advantage is that it measures the resistive as well as the capacitive element of a system’s impedance. The effect of this is that, unlike the charge-discharge method, it works reliably in difficult conditions, such as in the presence of moisture, or when the driver is wearing gloves. And it cannot be fooled, so provides for assured detection of the driver’s grip on the steering wheel. And the added benefit of the AS8579-based solution is that it can operate via a heated steering wheel’s heater element, so it does not require a separate sensor element to be built into the steering wheel. 

This is how the AS8579 eliminates the normal trade-offs in engineering design: 

  • It performs better – it cannot be fooled, and it operates in all conditions
  • It costs less – it is a single-chip solution, and requires no dedicated sensing element in a heated steering wheel
  • It is easy to implement – the chip’s output is an impedance measurement, and the system controller simply applies a threshold value to determine whether hands are on the steering wheel or not. 
     

Ready for use in automotive designs

The AS8579 is fully automotive qualified, and offers multiple on-chip diagnostic functions, ensuring support for the ISO 26262 functional safety standard up to ASIL Grade B. Operating at one of four selectable driver-output frequencies – 45.45kHz, 71.43kHz, 100kHz or 125kHz – the AS8579 offers high immunity to electromagnetic interference.

Automotive designers can start developing with the AS8579 automotive capacitive sensor immediately using its dedicated evaluation kit, the AS8579-TS_EK_DB. 

For more technical information or for sample requests, please go to capacitive sensor AS8579.