用于光投影的微型透镜组件

在今天的汽车照明中,波束一般是通过光学技术形成,而光学技术已经拥有几十年的历史。光投影的物理性质通常要求光源和投影透镜之间有一个较长的最小距离。这意味着,整个投影模块组件体积大,会占用车身相当大的面积。通过微透镜阵列投影图像,可显著减小光源和透镜之间的焦距。这种投影仪的尺寸远小于传统单透镜投影仪。

微透镜阵列(MLA)技术的采用标志着传统汽车照明设计方法的突破:它首次通过深度和高度只有几毫米的组件将紧密聚焦的波束甚至图像或图案投影到路面或人行道上。

增强型装饰性照明是微透镜阵列技术的首个应用。现在有了许多实际用例,汽车设计师也在不断挖掘新的用例。该技术用于以良好的分辨率显示图案或标志(例如,脚部空间照明图片、迎宾灯光等)。未来,安全照明将成为汽车制造商十分感兴趣的主题,例如帮助转向的引导线。

外部装饰性照明

当车辆检测到车钥匙靠近时,从门槛处投影出的道路照明可显示该车型或品牌独有的图案。这一功能既方便又安全,照亮了用户上车要经过的路面。


它还可赋予汽车拟人化特性,车灯似乎在“欢迎”驾驶员从黑暗中返回车中。投影在地面上的独特图像也可以成为汽车品牌的标志。

迎宾光毯

在该外部装饰性照明应用中,当驾驶员靠近停放着的车辆时,会显示静态或动态投影(如车辆的品牌标志)来欢迎驾驶员。即使在不平坦或略微倾斜的路面上,投影图案仍然清晰且均匀,因为紧凑的微透镜阵列(MLA)安装在车门的侧门槛中,能够提供出色性能。汽车两侧各有一个MLA模块,使用改良的新准直透镜进行投影。通过使用公开市场中一个具有相似FOI范围(最大FOI ±10°)的平台,即可实现该应用。该应用不受监管方面的限制(因为该应用只在驻车状态下使用)。

在不断发展的半动态投影领域,作为知名的大规模晶圆级光学元件(WLO)生产商,艾迈斯半导体是能够分享技术创新与专业技术的合作伙伴。该领域可以和我们的光学MLA设计与生产能力垂直整合。

我们的公开市场产品平台预计将于2021年上半年提供,随后便可以投入客户项目。

> 观看有关投影照明的演示视频

倒车引导

在该外部功能性照明应用中,倒车时投影在路面上的红色或白色标识能为驾驶员提供功能和安全(预警)方面的信息。安装选项包括将微透镜阵列(MLA)(左/右)置于后保险杠中心的单个模块,或集成在尾灯中的两个模块(一个在左侧,一个在右侧)中。目标照度可根据投影距离进行调整,由于光学系统的高景深(整个图案处于超焦距),尽管是以较小的角度投影,也能提供清晰的图像。

在这一新的市场细分领域,作为知名的大规模晶圆级光学元件(WLO)生产商,艾迈斯半导体是能够分享技术创新与专业知识的合作伙伴。该领域可以和我们的光学MLA设计与生产能力垂直整合。该应用与MLA技术有许多相同的优势,包括在不平坦/略微倾斜路面上的图像清晰度。

我们的产品平台预计将于2021年下半年提供,随后便可以投入客户项目。

投影照明系统的构成

基于MLA的投影照明组件由LED光源、准直透镜和微透镜阵列组成。该阵列为定制设计的模块;典型MLA的尺寸为11.4mm x 10.7mm x 3.0mm。

该阵列是一组精密制造的微型透镜或“微透镜”。由于透镜阵列是通过与半导体行业共享的工艺制造的,因此MLA技术具有与硅芯片相同的成本和质量优势。

纳米级制造也意味着,微透镜可精确成型并定位,从而将单个锐聚焦图像投射到离投影仪一定距离的表面。该表面可以是平坦、弯曲或任意形状的表面,既可垂直于投影仪,也可倾斜。   

> 观看有关投影照明的在线研讨会

Miniature Lens Assembly for Light Projection

In automotive lighting today, the beam is generally shaped using optical technology which is several decades old. Usually, the physics of light projection necessitates a long minimum distance between the light source and the projector lens. This means that the entire projector module assembly has a large volume, and occupies a substantial area in the body of the vehicle. By projecting an image through an array of lenslets, the focal length between the light source and the lens can be massively reduced. This creates a projector with far smaller dimensions than a conventional single-lens projector.

The adoption of Micro Lens Array (MLA) technology marks an abrupt break from traditional approaches to automotive lighting design: the first time it enables a tightly-focused beam or even an image or pattern to be projected on the surface of the road or pavement, all this from an assembly, just a few millimeters deep and high.

Enhanced Decorative Lighting was the first application for Micro Lens Array technology. Today, there are many practical use cases and automotive designers are continually inventing new use cases. The technology is used to display a pattern or a logo in good resolution (e.g. foot well lighting picture, welcoming light, etc.). In future, safety lighting is of great interest for car manufacturers, for example, guidelines for reversing maneuvers.

Exterior Decorative Lighting

Pathway lighting, projected from under the door sills, can display a pattern distinctive to the model or brand when the vehicle detects the proximity of the key fob. This convenience and safety feature illuminates the road surface where the user will step to enter the car.

It can also imbue a sense of personality to the car – the lights ‘welcome’ the driver on his or her return to the car in the dark. A unique image projected on the ground can also become a signature of the vehicle’s brand.

Welcome Light Carpet

In this exterior decorative lighting application, a static or dynamic projection – for example, the vehicle’s brand mark – welcomes the driver as they approach their parked vehicle. The projected pattern remains sharply focused and homogeneous even on an uneven or slightly angled road surface, as the compact Micro Lens Array (MLA) is mounted in the side sills of the car door delivers superior performance. One MLA module on each side of the car is used for projection, using a new and improved collimator. Applications are realized using one of the open market platforms, with a similar FOI range (max FOI ±10°). Regulatory status is not a limiting factor for this application (parked vehicle use only).

As a renowned large-scale mass producer of Wafer Level Optics (WLO), ams is the right partner to share its technology innovation and expertise in the evolving field of semi-dynamic projection. This can be vertically integrated with our own optical MLA design and production capabilities.

Our product platform for the open market is scheduled for availability in the first half of 2021, with customer projects due to begin thereafter.

> Watch our demo video about projection lighting

Back-up Guide

In this exterior functional lighting application, red or white markings projected on the road surface while backing up combine both functional and safety (pre-warning) information to the driver. Mounting options include a single module with both Micro Lens Arrays (MLA) (L/R) positioned centered at the rear bumper or as two modules (one left and one right), possibly integrated in the rear lamps. The targeted illuminance can be adjusted to the projection distance and a sharp image is delivered despite projection under a shallow angle, due to the high depth of view of the optical system (the whole pattern is in hyper focal distance).

As a renowned large-scale mass producer of Wafer Level Optics (WLO), ams is the right partner to share its technology innovation and know-how in this new market segment. This can be vertically integrated with our own optical MLA design and production capabilities. This application shares many of the advantages of MLA technology, including sharpness of image on uneven/slightly angled surfaces.

Our product platform is scheduled for availability in the second half of 2021, with customer projects due to begin thereafter.

Composition of a Projected Lighting System

An MLA-based projected lighting assembly is composed of an LED light source, collimator and the micro-lens array itself. The array is a custom-designed module; a typical MLA measures 11.4mm x 10.7mm x 3.0mm.

The array is a precisely manufactured set of miniature lenses, or ‘lenslets’. As the lens array is fabricated through processes shared with the semiconductor industry, MLA technology benefits from the same cost and quality advantages that silicon chips enjoy.

Nanoscale fabrication also means that the lenslets can be precisely shaped and positioned so that they project a single, sharply-focused image on to a surface at a specified distance from the projector. The surface may be specified to be flat, curved or freeform, and perpendicular to the projector or tilted.          

> Check out our webinar about Projected Lighting