Day in a Life of a sensor

传感器的一天

艾迈斯半导体传感器技术如何实现更好的生活方式?艾迈斯半导体全球销售与营销部执行副总裁Pierre Laboisse带我们了解:从清晨起床锻炼到夜晚关灯休息,平均200个传感器如何改善我们的日常生活。一些情景是未来设想。

200个传感器如何改善我们的日常生活

知道吗,从你清晨起床喝第一杯咖啡开始,可能已经在使用依靠艾迈斯半导体传感器的应用程序了。艾迈斯半导体估计,人们每天在使用设备、驾驶汽车或工作时,大约会接触200个传感器。传感器收集数据,然后利用这些数据启动操作。我们来看看艾迈斯半导体传感器的现代应用,以及一些描绘美好生活的未来场景。

移动手机已变得不可或缺。从3D传感、光谱传感到创新型OLED屏后(BOLED)光传感等应用,全球领先的智能手机OEM均已开始使用艾迈斯半导体传感器技术。诸如飞行时间(ToF)等3D传感技术可测量手机和物体之间的精确距离,并且可用于增强AR、视频和摄像效果应用。我们的3D脸部识别专业知识可将快速便捷的用户身份识别和身份验证功能用于智能手机,包括安全支付授权。利用我们的BOLED光传感器,OEM可生产出尺寸更小的无边框手机,而我们的频谱传感器可改进移动设备的摄像功能。艾迈斯半导体技术可帮助增强移动生活方式,其中许多增强功能还应用于平板电脑、计算机和无线耳机。

当你边听音乐边工作时,可以使用艾迈斯半导体的ANC(主动降噪)技术和听觉增强技术,这两项技术现已用于世界各地的耳塞和耳机中。

 

艾迈斯半导体传感器技术可实现轻松安全的驾驶体验

开车去工作的途中,你可能会使用艾迈斯半导体传感器和照明技术。远程解锁汽车时,一个明亮而清晰的灯光图案将投影在地面上以示欢迎。行车途中,方向盘和主动减震系统中部署的精确位置传感器有助于实现轻松安全的驾驶体验,即使在崎岖不平的路上亦是如此。
光学传感技术可识别你的手势,并允许你与汽车娱乐信息系统直接互动,不会让你分心。在不久的将来,这项技术带给你的不仅仅是便利,例如:它可以检测任何座位上是否存在生物和物体,以确保车辆安全系统能够以最佳方式响应所有乘员,包括儿童和宠物。
车辆前方光学传感系统(要通过欧盟新车安全评鉴协会最高安全评级,每辆汽车都需要配备)将受益于艾迈斯半导体的主要构件模块。如果汽车能够警告在行驶期间打瞌睡或正在改变视觉焦点的驾驶人员,那么由于驾驶人员困倦和分心导致的致命事故将明显减少。
在不久的将来,凭借坚固可靠的固态LiDAR传感器,当你在高速公路上行驶时,你的高速公路导航功能将显著增强,因为该传感器利用了艾迈斯半导体依靠专有VSCEL技术开发出的激光源。未来,这项技术还将有助于实现全自动驾驶汽车。 如果你激活自动停车功能,也会使用到艾迈斯半导体技术,因为该功能会利用近距离LiDAR和艾迈斯半导体1D ToF发出的距离信息,这样你的汽车就能准确进入哪怕最局促的停车位。

 

3D技术确保办公区或住宅门禁安全

用于移动手机的艾迈斯半导体3D传感技术还可以用于许多其他应用,例如:住宅或(具有时间记录功能)办公区门禁安全应用。目前,我们正在评估将3D识别技术用于家居和楼宇自动化的电子门锁系统,以实现无钥匙进出。我们相信,这项技术优于指纹进出,因为当手很冷或手湿时,指纹进出经常会失效。较之于2D识别系统,3D识别的安全性明显更高。此外,基于3D传感技术的门禁系统适用于无需双手操作的环境,从而有助于减少细菌的传播,这在当今世界至关重要。

 

 

 

 

工业领域的接近传感器支持更复杂和更准确的人机交互 

在工业效率不断提高并开始实现自动化的过程中,无论是无人机送货还是工厂机器人,传感技术都发挥着重要作用。工业需要更精确的1/2/3D接近传感技术,这正是艾迈斯半导体的强项。最终,人类和机器人将以高度复杂的方式协同工作,在此过程中会同时用到大量传感器,以实现人机无缝协作。艾迈斯半导体传感器还能够快速准确地扫描周围区域,如仓库、集装箱或货车,以便轻松地测量装载体积。

 

医疗保健—“请吞下这个Naneye摄像头”

预防是最好的药:可以预见,智能手机、可穿戴设备和其他设备中用于测量重要生命体征的生物传感器必将扩大在预防医疗保健领域的应用,带来更好、更独立且更健康的生活方式。艾迈斯半导体可提供世界上最小型的摄像头模块:Naneye,适用于医疗保健、家居和工业应用。艾迈斯半导体的Naneye最终可实现吞服胶囊形式的一次性内窥镜。作为全球成像技术的领导者,艾迈斯半导体成像传感器可用于高性能计算机断层扫描(CT)或数字X射线设备,这些设备可用于预防性或急诊扫描。 

COVID-19疫情肆虐全球,许多国家颁发居家令,艾迈斯半导体一直在努力帮助控制冠状病毒。我们的光学传感器技术可用于侧向层析诊断,以提高现场护理检测套件(对我来说,这种设备听起来像台式机器)的读数准确性。我们期望与开发一次性快速检测系统的公司合作推动这项技术,帮助全世界尽快回到正常轨道。

 

轻松安全的支付

随着时间的推移,新的传感器用例将深入生活的方方面面,如杂货店无密码安全支付体验中的3D脸部识别身份验证。 

 

艾迈斯半导体传感器技术使不可能成为可能

“发挥无限想象力”是艾迈斯半导体的核心价值观。当我们的传感器技术使不可能变为可能时,我们的全球工程师、销售团队以及客户也在“发挥无限想象力”,为改善我们的日常生活而不断创新。就这样,我们不断发现新业务模式和技术,为我们的客户创造价值,同时为用户提供更好的生活方式。期待您的反馈,欢迎再次登陆艾迈斯半导体博客。

Day in a Life of a sensor

How does ams sensor technology enable a better lifestyle? Pierre Laboisse, ams EVP Global Sales and Marketing, walks us through how on average 200 sensors could enhance our lives every day, from your dawn workout to turning off the lights. Some scenarios are future ideas.

How 200 sensors enhance our lives every day

Did you know that you have probably used an application that makes use of an ams sensor by the time you have had your first cup of coffee in the morning? ams estimates that on average, people are in contact with around 200 sensors every day in their devices, car, or at work. Sensors gather data that can then enable an action. Let´s look at how ams sensor technology is used today, and some future scenarios that will enable a better lifestyle.
Our mobile phones have become indispensable. From 3D sensing, spectral sensing and innovative Behind OLED (BOLED) light sensing and much more, ams sensor technology is used by leading smartphone OEMs worldwide. 3D sensing technologies such as time-of-flight (ToF) measures the precise distance between the phone and an object and can be used for enhanced AR, video and photographic effect applications. Our 3D face recognition know-how has brought fast and convenient user identification and authentication to smartphones which includes secure payment authorization. Our BOLED light sensors help OEMs to create smaller, bezel-less phones and our spectral sensors enable better photography in mobile devices. ams’ technology helps enhance your mobile lifestyle, many of these enhancements are also moving into tablets, computers, and wireless headsets.
As you listen to music while doing your workout you might do so with ams’ ANC (active noise cancelation) technology and augmented hearing technology which is found in many earbuds and headphones worldwide.

 

ams sensor technology for comfort and safety on the road

On your drive to work, perhaps you are using ams sensor and lighting technology. As you remotely unlock your car, a bright and sharp light pattern will be projected on the ground to welcome you. During your drive, accurate position sensors deployed in steering and active suspension systems help make your ride as safe and comfortable as possible, even on bumpy roads.
Optical sensing technology recognizes your gestures and allows you to interact distraction-free and intuitively with your car’s infotainment system. Soon this technology will soon assist you beyond convenience, e.g. detecting living beings and objects on any seat ensuring the vehicle safety systems can respond in the best possible way for all passengers – including children and pets.
Driver-facing optical sensing systems – required for each car aiming for top safety ratings from EURO NCAP – will benefit from key ams building blocks. The possible fatal accidents caused by driver drowsiness and distraction will be significantly reduced if the car can warn the driver of micro sleep or changing eye focus occurring while driving.
In the near future, when you are traveling on the freeway, your highway pilot functionality will be significantly enhanced with robust and reliable solid-state LiDAR sensors for which ams develops the laser source based on its unique VCSEL technology. In the future, this same technology will contribute to making fully autonomous vehicles possible. 
ams technology will be put to work again if you activate your autonomous parking feature as it can use distance information from short-range LiDAR and ams 1D ToF to allow your car to find its way into the tightest parking places with precise accuracy.

 

3D technology for secure access to work or home

ams’ 3D sensing technology used in mobile phones can also be utilized in many other applications, for example to securely access your home or – with time recording in mind – your workplace. 3D recognition is being evaluated for electronic door lock systems used in home and building automation for hands-free access. We believe this technology is superior to fingerprint access, which often does not work when your hands are cold or wet.
3D recognition also offers significantly higher security compared to 2D recognition systems. Moreover, 3D sensing based access can enable a hands-free environment that helps reduce the spread of germs– vital in today’s world.

 

 

Proximity sensors for industry which enable more complex and accurate human-machine interaction

As industry drives efficiency and automation, whether it be drone delivery or factory robotics, sensing technology plays a key role. Industry needs more precise 1/2/3D proximity sensing technology, which ams provides. Eventually, robots and humans will work together in highly complex ways where multitudes of sensors will be used simultaneously to enable a seamless cooperation between the humans and machines. ams sensors are also able to scan the surrounding areas, such as a warehouse, container, or truck quickly and accurately to easily measure the volume of a load.

 

Healthcare – “Could you please swallow this Naneye camera”

Prevention is the best medicine: we envision that our biosensors in smartphones, wearables and other devices, that allow us to measure vital life signs, will widen access to increased preventative healthcare and enable a better, more independent and healthier lifestyle. ams provides the one of the world`s smallest cameras, the Naneye – for healthcare, home, and industrial applications. The ams Naneye could eventually enable a disposable endoscopy swallowed in a capsule. As a world leader in imaging technology, ams image sensors are in high-performance Computer Tomography (CT) or Digital X-Ray-equipment if you require a preventative or emergency scan. 

In these times of COVID-19 and stay-at-home directives in many countries across the world, ams is working to help in the fight to control the Corona virus. Our optical sensor technology can be used in Lateral Flow diagnostics to enhance the accuracy of readout of point-of-care test kits. We are looking to cooperate with companies that are developing disposable quick testing systems to further evolve this technology so our world can start getting back to normal more rapidly.

 

Payment made secure and easy

As your day comes to an end, new sensor use cases, such as 3D face authentication for a hands-free, secure payment experience at the grocery store could become commonplace. 

 

ams sensor technology makes the impossible possible

“Imagine the impossible” is a core value at ams. While our sensor technologies make the impossible possible, our engineers and sales teams worldwide, together with our customers, “imagine the impossible” to create ideas for innovation which enhance our daily lives. This is how we identify new business models and technology that offer value to our customers – and delivers the promise of a better lifestyle to users. I look forward to your feedback, and to connecting with you again on the ams blog.